Neighbourhood Centres Queensland Annual General Meeting Minutes 2022-2022

Date: 7 December 2022

Location: On-line Zoom Meeting

Time: 11:05am

Present:

Chairperson:Tomas PasseggiBaringa Community CentreTreasurerLouise JudgeChinchilla Family Support CentreSecretary:Tanya StevensonHervey Bay Neighbourhood Centre

Members:

Alana Wahl Laidley Community Centre

Caroline Cuckson Deception Bay Neighbourhood Centre

Mel Hilditch Community Plus+

Nicolette Ffrost The Neighbourhood Hub

Corrie McColl Bundaberg Neighbourhood Centre David Cameron Picabeen Community Centre Ana Greenfield Nambour Community Centre Michael Henning Maroochydore Community Centre Tracey Dickinson Community Support Centre Innisfail Tony Christinson Donald Simpson Community Centre Dung Pham Vietnamese Community Association Fiona Hawthorne Rainbow Beach Community centre

Miranda Woods New Farm Neighbourhood Centre
Natalie Saroglia Burdekin Neighbourhood Centre
Tracey Boulton Cookstone District Community Centre
Sandra Notch North Townsville Community Hub (NOTCH)

Tia Lancaster Rosewood Community Centre

Chris Staines Encircle Ltd

Sally Fischer East Creek Neighbourhood Centre Silvia Castillo Caloundra Community Centre

Courtney Hart Garbutt Community Centre/Community Gro

Julie Theakston Mareeba Community Centre
Tania Kelsey Elorac Place Community Centre

Brittany Community Su

Melinda Reed Neighbourhood Houses Tasmania

Michael Zgryza Multilink Community

Miranda Mallett Acacia Ridge Community Centre/Communify

Ex Officio: Fiona Hunt NCQ Appointed Board Member

Em James Chief Executive Officer

Mersiha CausevicNCQMelanie MaherNCQJane HawthorneNCQGeoff RobersonNCQTaylor BastNCQ

Visitors: Usha Sherwell (DCHDE), Michael Gordon (NHT), Melinda Reed (NHT)

Apologies:

Agenda	Discussion	Action Who/By when
Meeting Opened	Noted: No recording of the meeting Tomas welcomed all and acknowledged the Traditional Owners and Indigenous Leaders current and emerging. Tomas acknowledged guest speaker Michael Gordon, CEO of Neighbourhood Houses Tasmania. Em acknowledged Department representative (Usha Sherwell) and ANCHA representatives. House Keeping noted.	
Committee conflicts of interest	None Declared	
Correspondence	None pertaining to the AGM	
Previous AGM Minutes	Tabled with attachments via Zoom Chat. Motion: That the AGM Minutes of 8 December 2021 be accepted as a true and correct record: Moved: Louise Judge Seconded: Alana Wahl Carried.	
Business arising from previous AGM	None Arising	
Guest Speaker	Tomas invited Michael Gordon from Neighbourhood Houses Tasmania. Michael gave an overview: 35 member houses across 4 regions with 10 board members. They have a staff of 5 with some additional staff when projects are operating. Michael showcased the resources that are available to support NH in Tasmania including handbooks for Boards & Community Development. They also have a board game to help understand the difference between operations and board governance. Opened for questions.	Action: NCQ to circulate resources from Tasmania.

2021 22 4	Tamana mana ang ang ang ang ang ang ang ang ang	
2021-22 Annual Report	Tomas gave an overview of the year and thanked the staff for their work. Also, thanked the sector for the work that has been achieved. Tomas announced that he will be stepping down as Chair this year but will continue on the board for one more year. Lastly, thanked the Department for their proactivity in engaging with NCQ and the Management Committee for their additional support and dedication. Annual Report was posted on the chat and available on the website. Motion: That the Annual Report has tabled been	
	accepted. Moved: Natalie Saroglia Seconded: Caroline Cuckson Carried.	
Treasurer's		
Report and	Louise discussed financials for the year. Louise explained the Management Committee had	
Audited Financial	made additional financial investments that have	
Reports	been successful in now receiving additional	
	funding.	
	Motion: That the Audited Financial Report be adopted. Moved: Louise Judge Seconded: Sandra Notch Carried.	
Strategic Plan	Em James presented the 2023-25 Strategic Plan.	
	Community Development Conference to be held in October 2023 in Moreton Bay.	
	Thanked the role of the Strategic Repositioning Committee for their work in shaping Neighbourhood Centres.	
	Em James will be the Chair for ANCHA next year and Tomas will continue on the board.	
Election of Officers	Tomas stepped down as Chair and handed over to Returning Officer, Mersiha Causevic.	
	This year NCQ has two (2) vacancies in Metropolitan Zones and three (3) vacancies in Rural/Regional Zones.	

Tanya Stevenson, Hervey Bay Neighbourhood Centre - Rural and Remote has resigned as secretary after two years of service. Val Edsall, The Neighbourhood Hub Mackay – resigned earlier this year as a committee member.

The following NCQ members were nominated for the Metropolitan Zone:

- Caroline Cuckson, Deception Bay Neighbourhood Centre Inc
- Mel Hilditch, Community Plus +

This is equal to the number of board vacancies to be filled for the Metropolitan Zone, so these nominees are elected unopposed to the Board. No nominations will be taken from the floor because there are enough nominations for the positions available.

Mersiha declared the following nominees

Caroline Cuckson and Mel Hilditch elected to the

NCQ Management Committee.

The following NCQ members were nominated for the Rural/Regional Zone:

- Alana Wahl, Laidley Community Centre
- Nicolette Frost, The Neighbourhood Hub
- Sandra Elton, North Townsville Community Hub Inc
- Tracey Dickinson, Better Together Community Support

The existing rural/regional representative on the committee for the time being shall retire from office but shall be eligible for re-election.

As there are more candidates nominated for the Management Committee then positions available, a secret ballot will be held.

Voting opened for all AGM attendees to registered to vote.

Voting closed and tally completed.

The Returning Officer declared the following 3 Rural/Regional Zone nominees elected to the NCQ Management.

- 1. Alana Wahl
- 2. Sandra Elton

Tied vote for Nicolette and Tracey. Voting was sent again.

3. Tracey Dickinson

In accordance with the NCQ Constitution, the following committee members will continue their appointment. Can each of the continuing Board members present please unmute themselves and say hello as their name is called so everyone can see who they are:

- Tomas Passeggi, Caloundra Community Centre - Metropolitan Zone
- Louise Judge, Chinchilla Family Support Centre - Rural/Regional Zone

Mersiha handed back over to Tomas.

Tomas thanked all the nominees and also Nicolette Ffrost for her casual role on the Board filling for Val Edsall over the past few months.

Ballot results were shared on the chat.

Ballot results:

Alana Wahl 11 votes 30.56%

Nicolette Ffrost 7 votes 19.44%

Sandra Elton 11 votes 30.56%

Tracey Dickinson 7 votes 19.44%

Second ballot results:

Nicolette Ffrost 4 votes 33.33%

Tracey Dickinson 8 votes 66.67%

General Business

Appointment of Auditors

Motion: SPS audit be appointed to provide audit services for the NCQ.

Moved: Louise Judge

Seconded: Natalie Saroglia

Carried.

Membership fees

	No changes to the membership fees for now – The membership fees will be revised within the financial year.
	Meeting opened for further questions.
Guest Speaker to Close	Fiona Hunt - CEO of Basic Rights Queensland and appointed member of NCQ. Thanked board and chair and made special thanks to Tomas as Chair and Tanya as Secretary.
Meeting Closed	Tomas officially closed the meeting. Time: 12:20pm

Minutes accepted by:	President	Date//
Minutes accepted by:	Secretary	Date//